Pajhwok Services

Photo Service

SMS News Service

Pajhwok combines its expertise and experience in news reporting with a telecom firm and thus reach a wider audience in an 
effective way.

To subscribe: 
English News Update : Send 83 to 824
Dari News Update : Send 84 to 824
Pashto News Update : Send 85 to 824

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Media Release Service

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Pajhwok Mobile App

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Mesharano Jirga elects heads for different commissions

Mesharano Jirga elects heads for different commissions

Mar 10, 2018 - 19:25

KABUL (Pajhwok): Meshrano Jirga or upper house of the parliament on Saturday elected heads for 12 commissions of the house with eight previous heads reoccupying the leadership of different commission.

Leaders of the two houses of parliament are elected for one legislative term. The current Wolesi Jirga speaker is Abdur Rahim Ibrahimi and Meshrano Jirga (Senate) chairman is Fazal Hadi Muslimyar.

The Meshrano Jirga commissions held polls for electing heads of the house commissions today.

Deputy Secretary of the upper house, Faisal Samay, said Lutfullah Baba was elected as head of communications commission, Abdul Latif Nazatyar as head of cultural affairs and higher education commission and Muhayuddin as justice commission of Meshrano Jirga.

Mir Hatam Tarakhel elected as head of provincial councils and lawmakers’ safety commission, Nisar Ahmad as public prosperity, Mohammad Hanif Hanafi as complaints hearing and Mohammad Hasham Alokozai as defensive affairs commission, he said.

Samay said that the mentioned eight lawmakers were heads of the mentioned commissions of the lower house in the previous legislative term too.

Seddiqa Balkhi elected as head for women affairs commission, Mohammad Azim Qoyash as head for economy commission and Ahmad Javid Raouf as head of international affairs commission, he added.

He said that Shafiqa Nawrozkhel, Lala Gul and Latif Zhwandi were heads of women affairs, economy and international affairs commissions respectively in the previous legislative term of Wolesi Jirga.

Nafisa Sultani was elected as head of newly created commission for martyrs and people with disabilities, Samay concluded.